Counties Histories
In 1763, the King of Great Britain by royal proclamation limited West Florida on the west by the Mississippi River, on the north by the 31st parallel, on the east by the Chattahoochee River and Apalachicola River. West Florida
Escambia County Escambia County is one of Florida's two original counties (St. Johns being the other), established on July 21, 1821 covering the entire territory within modern state boundaries.. Escambia county government had jurisdiction over the "panhandle" and "big bend" areas, and St. Johns over the remainder of the entire state. The origins of its name are unknown, although it is believed to be taken from an Indian word. Pensacola is the county seat. The city was established in 1698 and during its history has served as the location where the transfer of the Floridas from Spain to the United States was arranged as well as the first capital of the Territory of West Florida. Escambia County
Gadsden County Click for detailed history When Florida became a territory in 1821, Andrew Jackson was appointed governor and among his many duties, he subdivided the area into two counties East Florida and West Florida. After several other divisions had taken place, on June 24, 1823, a fifth county generally spoken as Middle Florida was established. Boundaries for the new county were the Suwannee River on the east and the Apalachicola River on the west and it was named Gadsen in honor of James Gadsen, aide-de-camp to Andrew Jackson in the Florida Campaign of 1818. Gadsden County
Leon County Click for detailed history Originally part of Escambia and later Gadsden Counties, Leon was created by the territorial legislature in 1824. Named for Juan Ponce de Leon, discoverer of Florida, it became antebellum Florida's most prosperous and populous county. Cotton thrived in its fertile soil. Tallahassee, the county seat, has been the state capital since 1824. Leon County
Jefferson County Click for detailed history Jefferson County was separated from Leon County in 1827. The county, named for Thomas Jefferson, was established January 6, 1827. Monticello, named for Jefferson's Virginia home, was named county seat before statehood, while Florida was a territory of the United States. Monticello remains the county's only incorporated city. Jefferson County
Madison County Click for detailed history Madison County is Florida's 14th county, established on December 26, 1827, from a segment of Jefferson County. It gains its name from James Madison (1751-1836), the 4th President of the United States (1809-1817). Many of the original settlers in this area were from Virginia. Madison, originally called Hickstown after the Seminole Indian chief John Hicks, is the county seat. Madison County
Lafayette County Lafayette County was created on December 23, 1856 from part of Madison County. At the time it comprised all the area of present-day Lafayette and Dixie counties. The county was named in honor of the Marquis de Lafayette, the French general who rendered assistance to the Continental Army in the American Revolutionary War.[3] The famed Suwannee River forms the entire eastern boundary. Lafayette County
Dixie County Genealogy and History Click for detailed history Dixie County was formed in 1921 from Lafayette County. The County Seat is at Cross City. The County fronts on the Gulf of Mexico. It is one of the state's least densely populated areas and averages only 15 people per square mile. Population in 1990 was 10,585. Dixie County

Historic maps from Exploring Florida Maps is a part of both the Maps ETC and Exploring Florida websites. Produced by the Florida Center for Instructional Technology © 2009 College of Education, University of South Florida Exploring Florida Maps

Back to From Gasden to Dixie Page

Help Us

We are looking for historical photos, articles, documents, letters, etc., related to Dixie county or any of the towns within the county. Please use the contact info to reach us. Thank you!
Dixie County Historical Society
761 SE Highway 349
Old Town, FL  32680
Phone: (352) 542-0047
E-mail: Contact Us!